Apps for Bloom’s Taxonomy

This week I was in search of educational tech tools. I found a great resource that helps with teaching to Bloom’s Taxonomy. The resource outlines six levels of Bloom’s Taxonomy: creation, evaluation, analysis, knowledge, comprehension, and application. There are many apps listed for various ways of showing learning and understanding in these areas.

For evaluation I looked at the apps for collaboration, as collaborative learning is important to me but can be a bit difficult. I liked the app iBrainstorm. It allows groups to collaborate on different devices in real time and from different locations. I think Google Docs is another great collaboration tool, but I really enjoyed the ease of drawing images and conversing that iBrainstorm allows.

For knowledge I liked the mind mapping tool iMindmap. This app might not be for every learner, but could be helpful for note taking and mapping their ideas. I think the app could be used in pre-writing steps as well. Learners could use this app for projects to show their understanding visually.

There are many apps to be explored and ways to use them to reach the higher levels of Bloom’s Taxonomy. These are a few that are new to me and that I could see potential in. What do you think of these resources? What are some other great apps I’m missing out on?

6 thoughts on “Apps for Bloom’s Taxonomy

  1. Hey Paige! I’ve seen iBrainstorm modeled before and I think it’s a terrific application for a school to have for their set of iPads. Personally I could use this application for a few of my students who find it difficult to show connections and knowledge when planning out their brainstorm for writing assignments. They’re visual students who make sense of things by literally drawing connections and sit with me to explain it. It’d be a great way too, to create a mini story board in creative writing?

    Have you tried looking into the Audiobooks app? We’re currently giving that a shot in my classroom as we start our “Shane” novel study in ELA in two weeks. I have a few students who have a difficulty staying focused when reading. It is also handy for several other students in my school who are visually impaired. This app simply reads them the book, and they will have a chapter question/assignment to follow up based on what they have learned. It keeps students of all abilities and learning styles to participate altogether in the same room.

    • I haven’t looked into Audiobooks app, it sounds like a great addition that would help with differentiating the classroom and reaching out to students with special need as well as students who simply like to have things read aloud. I would definitely look into using it.

  2. LOVE these tools, Paige! I used to do all sorts of mind mapping as a kid, then somehow got away from it. I recently started trying to do it again and have been looking for some new tools to try, and these are fantastic. I think they would be so useful in the classroom for all of the visual learning style students. And what a great way to collaborate too like you suggested. It’s great that they are compatible on tablets, phones and also on computers too; I think that is a huge bonus for apps because it allows so much versatility in their use.
    Prior to this semester I had actually never even heard of Bloom’s Taxonomy, but I have one instructor who totally supports it and uses it in our class, which is so great. I love how it encourages higher level thinking through creativity of thought and action. I have started following a bunch of people on Twitter who use some of these methods in their class also.
    Here are a couple of sites/blogs that I found recently that have some neat ideas using apps and Twitter:
    http://www.schrockguide.net/bloomin-apps.html
    https://globaldigitalcitizen.org/22-ways-to-use-twitter-for-learning-based-on-blooms-taxonomy/
    Thanks for your post!

    • Thanks for these links Kendra, Bloom’s Taxonomy can be a wonderful way to think about teaching and learning. It’s cool to see sites like Twitter being applied to all different level; I think it’s something many students could get behind and learn from (while also exercising their digital citizenship!)

Leave a Reply

