Learning How to Draw: Noses

Learning how to draw a nose has been the hardest part of my learning project. I was not looking forward to learning how to draw the nose as much as I had been with the eyes. However, the improvement I have made I am more proud than any other improvements I’ve made in my drawing. I think what makes the nose so difficult is that it is mostly shading. There are very few lines you can make and have it look realistic.

I began learning  how to draw the nose from a structural point of view. I learned to draw the nose from the front, the side, three-quarter view and from below. I used a couple of youtube videos to help me out with this part.

I found this video particularly helpful. It’s easy to follow and nicely organized. I was able to follow along and gain a good grasp on the basic structure of noses, which I can use detail to create many different looking noses. Also, because it goes through the different perspectives I gained a better idea of how to draw the nose and I will be able to draw portraits from different perspectives.

NoseStructure

 

I practiced drawing the nose structures a bit more and searched for another video to give me another example to get another way of approaching the construction of a drawn nose. I believe this video is by the same person, but goes over slightly different material.

NosesPractice

Next, I learned how to make the nose look realistic, referencing what I learned of the structure. I struggled at first to find videos that were actually helpful. There are less videos on how to draw the nose than there are for the eyes. A lot of the videos out there do not provide step by step examples, which I find helpful.

Videos that I used are:

  1. Pen & Ink Drawing Tutorials: How to draw a realistic nose” by: ALPHONSO DUNN
  2. How to Draw a Nose” by: Drawing and Painting Tutorials – TheVirtualInstructor.com
  3. How to Draw a Realistic Nose: Frontview” by: Daisy van der Berg
  4. how to draw nose realistic” by: Xia Taptara
  5. How to Draw a Realistic Nose” by: Drawing and Painting Tutorials – TheVirtualInstructor.com
  6. How to draw people – The Nose” by: uitdf227

I also used a non-video resource in order to get a step by step lesson. This picture tutorial gave step by step images and words that gave me insight into when I should be shading, blending, sketching, etc.

After watching and following along with the many resources I found, I was able to practice drawing noses.

Noses

 

Next I will be learning how to draw mouths. If you have any resources to share, that can help with any step in my process of learning how to draw, I would love to hear about them. Also, if you have any questions about my learning process so far, please ask them in the comments section.

3 thoughts on “Learning How to Draw: Noses

  1. I have little talent for drawing, but it really does seem like you have improved a great deal in this post. Thanks for sharing this really visible and transparent look into your learning and progress and how these videos really helped you along. Excellent post, Paige.

  2. Pingback: Learning How to Draw: Connecting the Pieces | Paige Mitchell's Blog

Leave a Reply

