Inquiring into Student-Centered Learning

I am making an inquiry into how I can support student-centered learning in my classroom. I want to be able to help students become active in their education. I want them to construct their learning in ways that are meaningful for them. I don’t want to talk at students and tell them what to learn and how they should learn it. I think that giving students a voice is an important part of my job. I want to learn how I can take these theories of learning and teaching and work them into my practices.

I would like to hear from other educators. I am interested in thoughts and concerns, experiences in what worked and what didn’t work, and any other words that can help me in my inquiry. I will be sharing my journey and would love to have discussion throughout.

I am starting my journey with some rough ideas and general thoughts about where I will be going. I view student-centered learning as being generally about moving away from a teacher-centered approach and allowing learning opportunities that take into account student interests, student needs, and student ways of knowing and showing their learning. I have an understanding of the constructivism, but am interested in classroom structures that can support the concept.

Any words, resources, thoughts, and/or questions are welcomed.

3 thoughts on “Inquiring into Student-Centered Learning

  1. Hey Paige! I’m so excited to see people sharing blog links on #saskedchat – it’s awesome to see. Student-centered learning is so important at every grade level. So much of that is simply adopting the mindset that it’s important, and modeling your own wonderings throughout your day. Being open with your class about what you want to learn about, and showing genuine enthusiasm when they bring questions forward, goes so far in promoting a class that inquires and drives their own learning. When this becomes the classroom climate, amazing things happen!

    One author that I always recommend for anyone interested in beginning inquiry-based learning is Tony Stead. I was fortunate enough to hear him speak when he came to Regina a few years ago, and Regina Public Schools purchased his books for our libraries. (I enjoyed them enough to pick up my own copies!) He’s most known for introducing the “RAN strategy,” which is something I’ve used from first to sixth grade and could very easily make its way up to the senior years. If nothing else, these books make a compelling argument for why it’s so vital that we respect and foster student questioning and curiosity at the youngest ages in order to ensure that they grow into young adults that trust their ability to lead learning.

    Stephanie Harvey and Harvey Daniels have written a book called ‘Comprehension & Collaboration: Inquiry Circles in Action’ that is also an excellent read and is intended for a wide audience as well.

    • Thank you Amy! I will definitely have to check those resources out. I want to do anything in my power to create the kind of classroom environment that encourages inquiry and allows students to explore their interests.

  2. Pingback: Further Inquiry into Student-Centered Learning | Paige Mitchell's Blog

Leave a Reply

