Lifelong Learning and Procrastination

ProcrastinationI haven’t written a blog post since the winter school term ended. I have done little networking on twitter (I always vow to participate in #saskedchat, but next thing I know it’s already Friday). I have read less resources on education than I would like to. I signed up for “Education on Air” and ended up not participating (thankfully, I believe I will be able to watch the recording of the lessons. These are all things I am interested in carrying out, but haven’t (yet!). I just started reading The Hobbit. I began writing a short story. I see myself as a lifelong learner. Despite not doing these exact things, I have been learning.

I learned a lot about interviewing processes and I’m getting more comfortable with them. I learned a lot about finding work and how important networking is for that matter. I’m learning more about the internship process that I will be experiencing come fall. I am doing some networking with other educators, which makes me happy. In my personal life, I have been working on my physical fitness. As always, I have a million ideas, goals, and projects on my mind. And I am also learning how to be okay with not getting them accomplished as soon as I conceive of them or becoming so fixated on the future and the road that leads to them that I miss the moments along the way. I enjoyed taking a small rest and I am enjoying being with my family again. It’s all about balance.

That being said, I am once again gearing up to strive to be a great learner, so that I can too be a great teacher. I will be finding myself on twitter for professional networking once again. I will be digging into the many education books I have accrued over three years and the Saskatchewan curriculum for that matter. I will be reading and writing to improve my own practice. I’m looking into other networking sites that will help me set small goals with my creative writing. Finally, I will be trying to blog more often (starting with this post) and improve my e-portfolio too!

I am a lifelong learner. I am dedicated to education, but sometimes I find myself needing to turn everything off for a while. That’s the balance though. I look forward to expanding my horizons and pushing myself farther this summer. I look forward to preparing myself for all that the next school year has to offer and all I have to offer it. Here I go.

2 thoughts on “Lifelong Learning and Procrastination

  1. Procrastination (when something needs to be done) isn’t great, but taking time to recharge is. Unfortunately, it’s taken me a long time to recognize how much I need that time! I’ve come to realize that only so many of my “hats” can be worn at any given time. I try to stress to my interns that the best preparation they can truly do for the four months is to come into it excited and rested… that way, you’re in the right head-space to take as many positive things away from it as possible.

    Enjoy internship! Have you found out where you’re headed?

Leave a Reply

